Is street photography dead?

I think this is a very important question to ask ourselves. I was looking through Indigo under the photography section, and I saw quite a few books on classic street photography.

Personally I find it amazing, I really enjoy looking at each picture and understanding/contemplating what it is the photographer was thinking at the time he took the picture.
Even more important for me, is the faces, the expressions, the details and activities of the lives of those who are photographed. It saddens me that in today’s society people no longer care for this style of photography. I find it deep and meaningful but I guess that we must move on to what’s next.

While I would love to do just that and move on with newer ideas and techniques, something within me is still pushing me to take those snaps of people.

With that being said, here’s my first attempt at street photography, composed over the last few days and edited entirely on VSCO. Let me know what you think!

PS: I will be flying to London in a few hours so I might go AWOL for a little, but I’ll come back with more pictures asap!


Leave a comment